a little bit of birthday bits & pieces…

It’s birthday week in this house, again! They come around so fast don’t they? I will very shortly be referring to my 3yr old and 6yr old as my 4yr and 7yr old, and it’s freaking me out just a tad. I’m so proud to be the mother of a 7yr old who just continues to surprise me with his constant affection, humour, and insatiable appetite for both food and knowledge. He is sucking up knowledge faster than we can give it to him and what’s more, he’s using it. He declared this afternoon that he can now tie his own shoe laces & I have to admit, I can’t take the credit for it, and I’m a little bit impressed. My other son (soon to be known herein as my 4yr old) is a SUPERHERO. There’s not much more I can say….except ‘please don’t karate chop, stab, spinjitzu me and straight up kill me this week’, I have cakes to bake.

Baking. I have been baking my tush off the past couple of days for a family birthday get together this weekend. I always fool myself into thinking I’ve picked the easy cakes but somehow it all ends up being way too complicated! So 4 full chocolate cake mixes, and 2 dozen mini cupcakes later I’m done with the baking. They are in the freezer ready for the fun bit, icing…I am so tired already.

On a different note, I got to do some photography this morning which was great fun for me and which I will of course be sharing, just as soon as birthdays are done, so stay tuned.

Here’s a couple of pics to make your mouth water!

by denise rix
by denise rix
There are 4 of these chocolate numbers and you’ll see why later (if they turn out that is)…
by denise rix

now I just need to get this little guy to understand that being a SUPERHERO means that you have to be GOOD…

by denise rix

2 thoughts on “a little bit of birthday bits & pieces…

  1. You know what? You are genuinely very funny!! …and insightful. Must have learnt it from me? They are some very lucky soon to be 4, 7 (and continuing-ly mid-40’s) men in your life.
    P.

Thank you for taking time out to read my blog. Feel free to leave a comment.

