I’m being eaten out of house and home…

 

‘Mum I want something, Mum I want something’ is the chant du jour, chant of the week, chant of the month, in fact it’s just about all I am currently hearing from my 2 yr old, to the point where I’m beginning to wonder if perhaps he’s forgotten that he can actually say other things, like perhaps, ‘Mum I love you’….I ask you, how is it possible that after 3 weetbix, half my muesli (and all the sultanas in it), 2 slices of toast, 2 biscuits, 1 squeezie yoghurt, a couple of rounds of ham and cheese sandwiches, more sultanas, a glass of juice, a glass of milk, a full dinner, more yoghurt, half my dinner and a few mouthfuls of his Dad’s, can he still WANT SOMETHING?  He is only 2 after all and certainly not an overly big 2 yr old, but he’s hungry and I’m this child’s personal Jiffy Van.

Then there’s his 5 yr old brother, who I’m finding hard to recognise these days.  He’s gone from hardly trying food to devouring whole roast chickens in a single sitting.  I served up a full roast chook this week thinking there’s plenty for myself and hungry husband, only to find to my astonishment that our 5 yr old was going mouthful for mouthful with his Dad, and before I really knew what was happening, they were battling it out, chicken between them and I can tell you it was a sight to behold (at one point I actually had to pry chicken cartilage out of my sons mouth, much to his disappointment).  In the end the winner was William and his father and I had a hard time convincing him that the carcass was not in fact his trophy, and one which I am sure he also would have tried to eat, had we not convinced him otherwise.

This is the very same child who has never been a fan of sandwiches with loose content, choosing instead the humble honey or vegemite sandwich as his staple.  It makes school lunches boring but indeed easy to prepare and just so long as he’s full I’m happy.  So imagine my amazement when this morning his reply to my ‘what’s it going to be today love, honey or vegemite’ question he tells me ‘ham, cheese, tomato and avocado’!

Of course there’s only person to blame for all this food feasting and we all know that its Dr Seuss…if it wasn’t for Green Eggs and Ham I think William would still be back on Weetbix three times a day!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled my kids have healthy appetites and  finally I’m getting the recognition I deserve in the kitchen and its music to my ears to hear them feasting rather than fitting at the table.  Now they will try it and they will like it and I’ll be darned, I’m being eaten out of house and home.

4 thoughts on “I’m being eaten out of house and home…

Thank you for taking time out to read my blog. Feel free to leave a comment.

